Georgia Wildlife Web

Home Glossary Classification Conservation Status Regions of Georgia Fishes of Georgia Make a Donation

Order Description


Order Description

The Order Lagomorpha includes rabbits, hares, and pikas. These small to medium mammals look very similar to rodents, but they have several distinct differences. Like rodents, they lack canine teeth. However, in addition to the pair of large chisel-shaped incisors visible at the front of their mouth, they have a second pair directly behind the first. They have large hind feet, long ears, and a short fuzzy tail. They are herbivores and feed on a wide variety of vegetation. There are only two families, with 65 species world-wide. Four of the 6 species found in the southeastern United States occur in Georgia.

Family Leporidae

This Family includes rabbits and hares. Rabbits are easily recognized by their body shape and movements. They seek shelter in burrows or crevices. They are strong runners and can often outmaneuver predators. There are 6 species in the southeastern United States (5 native and one introduced). Four of these are found in Georgia.
Species in this family:
    Appalachian Cottontail (Sylvilagus obscurus )
    Eastern Cottontail (Sylvilagus floridanus)
    Marsh Rabbit (Sylvilagus palustris)
    Swamp Rabbit (Sylvilagus aquaticus)