Georgia Wildlife Web

Home Glossary Classification Conservation Status Regions of Georgia Fishes of Georgia Make a Donation

Order Description


Order Description

The Order Strigiformes contains two families and over 130 species. In Georgia, there are two families and nine species.

Family Strigidae

Typical owls have a rounder facial disk, a semicircle on each side. The legs are relatively short. The clavicles are fused to the sternum. There is no comb on the middle claw.
Species in this family:
    Barred Owl (Strix varia)
    Burrowing Owl (Athene cunicularia)
    Eastern Screech-Owl (Megascops asio)
    Great Horned Owl (Bubo virginianus)
    Long-eared Owl (Asio otus)
    Northern Saw-whet Owl (Aegolius acadicus)
    Short-eared Owl (Asio flammeus)
    Snowy Owl (Bubo scandiacus)

Family Tytonidae

The Barn owls have a heart-shaped facial disk completely encircling face with a longer and narrower skull than typical owls. The middle toe has a serrated comb on the claw. The legs are relatively long. The clavicles are separate and not fused to the sternum.
Species in this family:
    Barn Owl (Tyto alba)