Georgia Wildlife Web

Home Glossary Classification Conservation Status Regions of Georgia Fishes of Georgia Make a Donation

Georgia Wildlife Web

List of Native Species

Georgia is host to a diverse collection of animals. The wildlife web has lots of information and pictures about many of these organisms. To start learning, click one of the class links above.

Animal Classification

Animal classification is very important to understanding animals. Animals are arranged into groups based on shared traits. This helps people understand complex relationships among organisms. To learn more about the development of classification and more about the arrangements, visit our Classification of Animals page.

Regions of Georgia

Georgia Region MapDid you know Georgia is divided into six regions? They are the Upper Coastal Plain, Lower Coastal Plain, Piedmont Region, Blue Ridge Region, Ridge and Valley Region, and the Appalachain Plateau. You can learn about each one on our Regions of Georgia page.